2008 Season

2008 Season (4)

Game recaps, stats, and photos from the Spiders 2008 season.

Thursday, 16 August 2018 16:56

Barnhardt Field Goal lifts Spiders past Bulldogs

Written by

Both Concord and J.M. Robinson entered Friday night's contest looking for their first win of the season. The Bulldogs were not the only visitors at Robert C. Bailey Stadium Friday night. The remnants of tropical storm Hannah brushed the area providing some heavy rain showers in the first half.

In the 1st quarter the teams exchanged several punts until Robinson tailback Jason Hampton broke free for a 37 yard touchdown run to put the Bulldogs up 7-0.  The defenses ruled the rest of the quarter.  Concord's Darin Posey and Wesley Scott sacked Bulldog quarterback Robert Cloninger to end the 1st quarter. The defensive struggle continued in the 2nd quarter with both offenses stalling. Later Concord would put together a sustained drive capped by Roger Smith's 27 yard touchdown reception from Sean Willix. Brandon Barnhardt would add the extra point to tie the game at 7-7.  Concord's Wesley Scott recovered a Robinson fumble on the next series and the half ended in a 7-7 tie.

The defenses would control the 2nd half as well. After a Concord punt Jason Hampton would strike again for the Bulldogs, this time covering 71 yards to put Robinson up 14-7. Concord answered with a drive of their own capped by Evan Carpenter's 45 yard TD catch. Barnhardt's extra point was wide right. Concord's defense started the 4th quarter with a big stop as Robinson went for a 4th and short conversion. The duo of Wesley Scott and Jalen Brown teamed up to stop the Robinson runner short of the first down.  Down by one Concord methodically drove down the field. But a tipped pass was intercepted by Bulldog cornerback Zach Fandl.

With less than two minutes left and Robinson holding the ball all appeared lost but Concord's defense would come through again. On the first play after the turnover the Spiders forced a fumble recovered by Concord linebacker Bradley Phillips. Concord would run a few plays before a field goal attempt. The Bulldogs used their remaining timeouts to ice kicker Brandon Barnhardt but to no avail. Barnhardt's 22 yard field goal split the uprights to give Concord the lead with 2 seconds remaining. The kickoff return was stopped after a short gain.

Darin Posey led the Concord defense with 12 tackles, 2 sacks and an interception.  Sean Willix finished 12-27 for 165 yards with 2 touchdowns and one interception. Roger Smith added 58 yards rushing and a touchdown reception. 

Next week the Spiders open SPC play with a trip to Piedmont. 

Click on read more for complete stats. Stats courtesy Billy Lyerly and Scott Dyer. 

Click here for Dale Barbee's game photos.

Friday, 29 August 2008 23:36

Tigers defeat Spiders in opener

Written by

Concord traveled to Mt. Pleasant to open the 2008 season. After a hard fought first half Mt. Pleasant took control in the 2nd half to defeat Concord 42-27 Friday night.

After a slow start both teams got the offenses going late in the 1st quarter. Mt. Pleasant would strike first with QB Evan Seymour hitting Andrew Carroll for a 32 yard touchdown pass. The first quarter would end with Mt. Pleasant ahead 7-0.

In the 2nd quarter Concord would answer with a 30 yard touchdown from Sean Willix to Jared Nash. Brandon Barnhardt would add the extra point to tie the game at 7-7. On the ensuing possession Seymour would again connect with Carroll this time on a 47 yard touchdown strike. Later in the 2nd Concord would take the lead after a 10 yard touchdown run by Roger Smith. That drive was highlighted by a 43 yard pass to Will Cowan and a 4th down conversion by Roger Smith. Concord's defense would recover a Mt. Pleasant fumble to end the half with a 14-13 lead.

Mt. Pleasant would score on the opening drive of the 3rd quarter on Haywood Forte's 3 yard touchdown run to put the Tigers up 19-14. The Tiger's defense would hold the Spiders and the Tigers struck again as Dalton Brandon would add a 20 yard touchdown run to give Mt. Pleasant a 27-14 lead. The teams would exchange turnovers before Mt. Pleasant would add another score as Seymour would find Brandon on a 57 yard touchdown pass. Concord's offense could not convert and the Tigers would add another score to put the Tigers up 42-14.

Junior quarterback Jordan Havinga came on in relief in the 4th quarter. The Spiders would add a 2 yard touchdown run from Brandon Phillips. Later after a Mt. Pleasant fumble was recovered by Tevin Barnes Havinga would connect with Davion Waters on a short touchdown pass. 

Willix finished 15-28 for 243 yards and 1 touchdown. Havinga would finish 4-8 for 64 yards and a touchdown. Brandon Phillips would lead the Spider rushers with 34 yards. Six different receivers would catch passes led by Will Cowan's 4 catches for 109 yards.  

Concord will be in action next week as they host the J.M. Robinson Bulldogs at Robert C. Bailey Stadium. 

Stats courtesy Scott Dyer and Billy Lyerly.

Click on read more for complete stats. 

Thursday, 16 August 2018 15:32

2008 Varsity Roster

Written by
1 Dominique Posey 10
2 Darren Miller 12
3 Will Cowan 12
4 Ben Brill 12
5 Roger Smith 12
6 Brandon Caldwell 11
7 Zack Shue 12
8 Mark O'Brien 11
9 James Underwood 11
10 Jared Nash 12
11 Davion Waters 12
12 Darius Merriweather 12
13 Evann Carpenter 12
14 Brandon Barnhardt 11
15 Sean Willix 11
16 Jordan Havinga 11
17 Charles Vincent 12
18 William Propst 12
20 Tevin Barnes 10
22 Zach Owens 11
24 Jalen Brown 10
25 Brandon Phillips 12
31 Bradley Phillips 10
50 Jeremy Starnes 11
52 Andrew Tucker 12
53 Wesley Scott 10
55 Shaquan Smith 10
58 Tyler Honeycutt 12
60 Jonathan Carranza 12
61 Caleb Eddleman 10
64 Nick Whitaker 11
65 Brandon Burchfield 12
66 Nathan Santiago 10
67 Kenneth Gill 10
70 Justin Miller 11
71 Ty Howie 12
72 Deangelo Luckey 12
73 Steven Arias 12
74 John Bell 12
Monday, 18 September 2017 17:36

2008 JV Roster

Written by
1   Preston Morgan   22   Denzel Phillips     58   Michael Pearson
2   Jermaine Reid   23   Craig Bailes     59   Austin Chasteen
3   Eli Bost   24   Tres Giles     60   A.J. James  
4   Jason Willix   25   Michael Delargy     61   Kyle Franklin  
5   Taj Williams   30   Robbie Pigott     62   Trevor Truesdale
6   Varen Blake   31   Jared Allison     63   Jonathan Furr
7   Nathaniel Smith   32   William James     64   Carlos Medlin  
9   Taylor Nolte   33   Omar Meza     65   Stephon Francis
10   Jahlial (JD) Misenheimer   35   Justin Harris     66   Zach Whitten  
11   Jalen Ferguson   42   Adrian McWilliams   67   Jackie Hillie  
    12   Kenji Martin   50   Alex Salado     70   Del Drye  
13   Ben Kelnhofer   51   Ethan Bean     71   Hakeem Singletary
14   Desmond Shamsid-Deen   52   Curtis Wise     72   Cody Hammel  
15   Eddie Melo   54   Hunter White     77   Dylan Kluttz  
16   Dariane Myers   55   Jacob Gadd     78   D.J. McMullen-Eury
18   Zach Lewis   56   Max Tirk              
19   Devin Leech   57   Austin Everhardt